CCCE- The Heart

I’m on vacation from work this week, so I may actually have time to post! Yay! Here’s a horribly depressing (and poorly-formatted) CCCE I came across:

The Heart

Please send this back but only if you mean it!

“Tomorrow morning,” the surgeon began,

“I’ll open up your heart…”

“You’ll find Jesus there,” the boy

interrupted.

The surgeon looked up, annoyed “I’ll

cut your heart open,” he continued,

to see how much damage has been

done…”

“But when you open up my heart, you’ll

find Jesus in there,” said the boy.

The surgeon looked to the parents, who

Sat quietly.”When I see how much

damage has been done, I’ll sew your

heart and chest back up, and I’ll plan

what to do next.”

“But you’ll find Jesus in my heart. The

Bible says He lives there. The

hymns all say He lives there. You’ll

find Him in my heart.”

The surgeon had had enough. “I’ll tell

you what I’ll find in your heart.

I’ll find damaged muscle, low blood

supply, and weakened vessels.

And I’ll find out if I can make you well.”

“You’ll find Jesus there too. He lives

there.”

The surgeon left.

The surgeon sat in his office, recording his

notes from the surgery, “…damaged aorta, damaged

pulmonary vein, widespread muscle degeneration.

No hope for transplant, no hope for cure. Therapy:

painkillers and bed rest. Prognosis:, ”

here he paused, “death within one year.”

He stopped the recorder, but there was

more to be said. “Why?” he asked aloud.

“Why did You do this? You’ve put

him here; You’ve put him in this pain; and

You’ve cursed him to an early death. Why?”

The Lord answered and said, “The boy,

My lamb, was not meant for your

flock for long, for he is a part of My

flock, and will forever be.

Here, in My flock, he will feel no pain, and

will be comforted as you cannot imagine.

His parents will one day join him here,

and they will know peace, and

My flock will continue to grow.”

The surgeon’s tears were hot, but his

anger was hotter. “You created that

boy, and You created that heart. He’ll

be dead in months. Why?”

The Lord answered, “The boy, My lamb,

shall return to My flock, for He has

Done his duty: I did not put My lamb

with your flock to lose him, but to retrieve another

lost lamb.”

The surgeon wept.. The surgeon sat

beside the boy’s bed; the boy’s

parents sat across from him. The boy awoke and

whispered, “Did you cut open my heart?”

“Yes,” said the surgeon.

“What did you find?” asked the boy.

“I found Jesus there,” said the

surgeon.

Author Unknown – Celebrate Jesus in 2006

If you aren’t ashamed to do this,

please follow the directions

listed below:

Jesus said, “If you are ashamed of me,

I will be ashamed of you before

my Father..”

I Am Not Ashamed. Pass this on only if

you mean it. “Yes, I do Love

God. He is my source of existence and

Savior. He keeps me functioning each

and everyday. Without Him, I will be

nothing. Without him, I am nothing,

but with Him I can do all things through

Christ that strengthens me.”

(Phil 4:13)

This is the simplest test. If you Love

God, and are not ashamed of all the

marvelous things he has done for you.

Send this to ten people and the

person who sent it to you

Where to start? Is exploratory surgery really a good idea for a patient whose heart is so damaged he’ll be dead within a year? A damaged knee, sure, but the heart isn’t something to just open up and look at for the hell of it. Well, except if Jesus is there. And if God’s trying to prove a point.

The Lord answered, “The boy, My lamb, shall return to My flock, for He has Done his duty: I did not put My lamb with your flock to lose him, but to retrieve another
lost lamb.”

To which the doctor should have replied: Gee, thanks God, but couldn’t you have miracled up something that didn’t require parents losing their five year old? If you can talk to me like this now, couldn’t we have had this conversation without casualties?

I don’t know, it just seems horrifying to me that theists think everything happens for a reason, including dead children and genocides. Also, I’m not going to any doctor who hears voices and talks to them.

Score me:

Presence of a dead child in the email’s story
Close enough.

Attempting to promote religion through the use of analogy/metaphor/simile that makes it look unappealing to those outside the religion.
I don’t want to belong to any religion whose deity kills little kids to prove a point to “lost sheep.” And don’t get me started on the sheep thing.

Out of the Mouths of Babes
One of my little cousins was once convinced that monkeys lived in his basement that was unfinished and he couldn’t go into. He thought he could see, talk to, and feed the monkeys through the central air vent by the staircase. I went down there once, and didn’t come up saying I’d found the simple truth of monkeys. That would have been awesome, though.

3 Responses to CCCE- The Heart

  1. ollysk2 says:

    I love that Jesus apparently made the value judgement that the surgeon’s soul was more important than a 5 year old boy’s life.

    But of course, if the boy had been brain dead in Florida hooked to a respirator to breathe, oh boy his life would have been worth fighting for then!

    Welcome to the Christian Cult of Death

    -olly

  2. migg says:

    WOW! I never knew such chains existed… You opened a whole new world of craziness for me. Is it really real? I’m speachless.

  3. helen_s says:

    It would have been more impressive if he’d opened up his heart and actually found Jesus there – a picture or a statue or perhaps a little homunculus.

    I’m not wanting to make a pun, but this story is sick.

Leave a Reply

