New Reader Submitted CCCE- Do You Smell That?

::Oh, for fuck’s sake, this didn’t get published when I finished it? That’s what I get for not checking the site after I update. I apparently finished this November 10, and it’s just now getting published. Sorry ’bout that.::

This reader submission is a piece I’d heard about but hadn’t seen in its full form. It was sent in by Tamara. Thanks Tamara!

Do You Smell That?

—– At the end of this story, it gives you two options.
I think you will figure out what option I chose.

A cold March wind danced around the dead of night in Dallas as the doctor walked into the small hospital room of Diana Blessing. She was still groggy from surgery.

Her husband, David, held her hand as they braced themselves for the latest news.

That afternoon of March 10, 1991, complications had forced Diana, only 24-weeks pregnant, to undergo an emergency Cesarean to deliver couple’s new daughter, Dana Lu Blessing.

At 12 inches long and weighing only one pound nine ounces, they already knew she was perilously premature.
Still, the doctor’s soft words dropped like bombs.

“I don’t think she’s going to make it,” he said, as kindly as he could.

“There’s only a 10-percent chance she will live through the night, and even then, if by some slim chance she does make it, her future could be a very cruel one.”

Numb with disbelief, David and Diana listened as the doctor described the devastating problems Dana would likely face if she survived.

She would never walk, she would never talk, she would probably be blind, and she would certainly be prone to other catastrophic conditions from cerebral palsy to complete mental retardation, and on and on.

“No! No!” was all Diana could say.

She and David, with their 5-year-old son Dustin, had long dreamed of the day they would have a daughter to become a family of four. Now, within a matter of hours, that dream was slipping away.

But as those first days passed, a new agony set in for David and Diana.

Because Dana’s underdeveloped nervous system was essentially ‘raw’, the lightest kiss or caress only intensified her discomfort, so they couldn’t even cradle their tiny baby girl against their chests to offer the strength of their love. All they could do, as Dana struggled alone beneath the ultraviolet light in the tangle of tubes and wires, was to pray that God would stay close to their precious little girl.

There was never a moment when Dana suddenly grew stronger.
But as the weeks went by, she did slowly gain an ounce of weight here and an ounce of strength there.

At last, when Dana turned two months old, her parents were able to hold her in their arms for the very first time. And two months later, though doctors continued to gently but grimly warn that her chances of surviving, much less living any kind of normal life, were next to zero, Dana went home from the hospital, just as her mother had predicted.

Five years later, when Dana was a petite but feisty young girl with glittering gray eyes and an unquenchable zest for life. She showed no signs whatsoever of any mental or physical impairment. Simply, she was everything a little girl can be and more. But that happy ending is far from the end of her story.

One blistering afternoon in the summer of 1996 near her home in Irving, Texas, Dana was sitting in her mother’s lap in the bleachers of a local ball park where her brother Dustin’s baseball team was practicing.

As always, Dana was chattering nonstop with her mother and several other adults sitting nearby when she suddenly fell silent Hugging her arms across her chest, little Dana asked, “Do you smell that?”

Smelling the air and detecting the approach of a thunderstorm, Diana replied, “Yes, it smells like rain.”

Dana closed her eyes and again asked, “Do you smell that?”

Once again, her mother replied, “Yes, I think we’re about to get wet. It smells like rain.”

Still caught in the moment, Dana shook her head, patted her thin shoulders with her small hands and loudly announced, “No, it smells like Him.

It smells like God when you lay your head on His chest.”

Tears blurred Diana’s eyes as Dana happily hopped down to play with the other children.

Before the rains came, her daughter’s words confirmed what Diana and all the members of the extended Blessing family had known, at least in their hearts, all along.

During those long days and nights of her first two months of her life, when her nerves were too sensitive for them to touch her, God was holding Dana on His chest and it is His loving scent that she remembers so well.

You now have 1 of 2 choices. You can either pass this on and let other people catch the chills like you did, or you can delete this and act like it didn’t touch your heart like it did mine.

IT’S YOUR CALL!

“I can do all things in Him who strengthens me.”

This morning when the Lord opened a window to Heaven, He saw me, and He asked: “My child, what is your greatest wish for today?” I responded:

“Lord please, take care of the person who is reading this message, their family and their special friends. They deserve it and I love them very much” The love of God is like the ocean, you can see its beginning, but not its end.

I did some research on this one, and it’s apparently (kind of) true. But while it’s based on a true story, and it’s really great that the little girl overcame the odds and has lived a healthy, happy life, it doesn’t make the story any less annoyingly sappy. Plus, it comes from one of the “Chicken Soup for the __” books, and those are just awful.

So, quotes:

Before the rains came, her daughter’s words confirmed what Diana and all the members of the extended Blessing family had known, at least in their hearts, all along.

During those long days and nights of her first two months of her life, when her nerves were too sensitive for them to touch her, God was holding Dana on His chest and it is His loving scent that she remembers so well.

One reason I like little kids is that they’ll just say random shit sometimes. They do that because their brains aren’t fully developed, and they’re processing the complicated stimuli of the outside world as well as they can. Adults shouldn’t take these things seriously, but when you believe there’s an invisible man living in the sky you’ll buy just about anything.

You now have 1 of 2 choices. You can either pass this on and let other people catch the chills like you did, or you can delete this and act like it didn’t touch your heart like it did mine.

I’m not acting like it didn’t touch my heart- I’m telling you that it didn’t.

Sorry about the lack of quotes here. I started the post yesterday evening, went to work intending to finish it on meal break, then had to leave to deal with a family medical emergency and just got back into town. Here’s the scoring:

Color
I’m learning a lot of html formatting some of these emails for the site.

Appeared on Snopes
Sure it was true, but it’s there.

Out of the Mouths of Babes

Me and God are Like This!

18 Responses to New Reader Submitted CCCE- Do You Smell That?

  1. Tony says:

    It’s like Eraserhead meet The Shining… wrapped in Christian propaganda bullshit.

  2. Chris says:

    As the mother to a child with a very similar situation, I feel sorry for your angry perspective on the world.

  3. I said I was glad she got better, didn’t I? I have friends and relatives who’ve had premature deliveries, with varying outcomes. Don’t think I didn’t root for all of those babies to make full recoveries, and don’t think I wasn’t sad for the ones who passed away. I don’t think making fun of something I find eye-rollingly cheesy and think doesn’t give enough credit to the medical science and hard-working personnel who actually allowed this child to survive necessarily makes me angry. Snarky, sure. A bit of a smart-ass, you bet. I don’t think adhering to a logic and reason-based worldview as opposed to a magical sky daddy and his army of angels-based one means that I’m angry. Sure, I’m frustrated sometimes that a lot of people go around believing ridiculous things like this, and that some of them try to get even more ridiculous things taught in public schools. Okay, maybe then I’m angry, but I’m usually a pretty optimistic and happy person. With one hell of a sarcastic streak, as you can tell from the site.

  4. Nancy says:

    Have you ever heard of live and let live?

    Have you heard that there is loads of scientific evidence that points to there being a God that created everything on this earth, including doctors and even you? Have you looked into that with an open mind and heart?

    I respect what ever you decide to believe and won’t judge you for it, I hope you can find a way to do the same for others.

    I wonder how much joy, peace and happiness you have in your life. It doesn’t sound like much, reading between the lines. Even if you don’t believe in God, or your idea of him is maybe distorted by a not so good example of a powerful parent figure you’ve had in your life, God believes in you and also loves you as much as any of his other children, which is good enough for me.

    I’ll pray for you but in the end God knows who will be for Him and who will be against Him. What ever you choose whilst on this earth, is your choice, and I respect it.

    Less of the cursing and swearing from you would be appreciated.

  5. I can’t believe I’m doing this, but here goes. Nancy, have you ever heard of live and let live? Because I just make fun of emails here. I don’t go to Christian sites telling the authors that they’re wrong, but I won’t judge them. As for the “loads of scientific evidence that points to there being a God that created everything on this earth,” if you would point me to a peer-reviewed journal containing that evidence, I’d be more than happy to look it over and consider it.

    I wonder how much joy, peace and happiness you have in your life. It doesn’t sound like much, reading between the lines. Even if you don’t believe in God, or your idea of him is maybe distorted by a not so good example of a powerful parent figure you’ve had in your life, God believes in you and also loves you as much as any of his other children, which is good enough for me.

    Wow, you get that much about my actual life from the site? Because I may be busy, work weird hours, and not have much time for a super-active social life, but I’ve got friends and family whom I love around me, and I do manage a few moments of happiness and peace. And the bit about the bad parental figure is really offensive, because I have great parents who I think raised me pretty well. I don’t believe in your god, or any other gods out there. That may be hard to grasp, but it’s true. I’m an atheist because evidence, logic, and reason point me in that direction, not because Daddy was too strict when I was little.

    And dammit, don’t tell me not to fucking cuss on my own motherfucking blog. You’re not my mother. A) My mother recognizes that I’m a grown-ass woman and can make my own decisions about how to speak and write in different situations, and B) Mom has just as much of a pottymouth as I do. In short, if you don’t like my writing style, you don’t have to read it.

  6. rtone says:

    Ooooo woooo! That Nancy, hah. Ripper. Perfect response by you it must be said. (I was wondering when the godies would start bitchin).

  7. Lepht says:

    i know what it smells like to me…

    Lepht

  8. Jon says:

    Read this email today, googled it to find out the facts…if there were any…and came across this blog that had me chuckling to myself. While I guess I’d be classsifed as a godie that believes in the magical sky daddy…(never heard it put that way, but I like it)…there’s no denying that it was one cheesy email. And for the finger-waggers, yes, I’m glad the little girl survived–but that doesn’t change the fact that it was cheesy.

    Anyway, couldn’t resist to leave a few lines after reading the above comments. Not everyone who believes there is a god, feels it’s justifiable to tell people what to do all in the name of “God loves you”.

  9. freemont says:

    This one got forwarded to me today. Snopes calls these “gludges”. Good word for them.

    These Christian responders just don’t get it, do they? They will never get it.

  10. freemont says:

    p.s. Could you please correct my spelling above – that’s really embarrassing. :-)

    The word is “glurge”, not “gludge”. per:

    http://www.snopes.com/info/glossary.asp#glurge

  11. Andy says:

    Jon — I love it when sane Christians(/other theists) speak up and remind everyone that not ALL Christians(/other theists) have the burning need to assimilate everyone. :)

    Anyway, I have to say that I love the monkeys in the basement thing.

  12. Lobengula says:

    To Pottymouth,

    Food for thought:

    Not very long ago the most distinguished astronomers in the world (scientists) surmised that at the time of the “Big Bang” all the stuff of the universe could have fit in a teaspoon. More recently these same august scientists have reasoned that if such was the case, then immediately before that point in time all the stuff of the universe would have actually had to have collapsed even further until it had no dimension at all. To put it in simple form for you…it didn’t exist. Therefore, everything came from nothing.

    What do any of you make of that?

  13. Lobengula says:

    To Onacrazychain:

    Here is your last paragraph without the foul language…

    And don’t tell me not to cuss on my own blog. You’re not my mother. A) My mother recognizes that I’m a grown woman and can make my own decisions about how to speak and write in different situations, and B) Mom has just as much of a pottymouth as I do. In short, if you don’t like my writing style, you don’t have to read it.

    As you can see, your foul language added no discernible information of any value. It merely serves to indicate your level of maturity.

    • I disagree completely with your assertion, Lobengula. While it’s true that swearing didn’t add any new pieces of information to the sentence, as it would have if I had written “Whilst going to shit I happened upon the butler fucking the maid,” the words you found offensive worked to convey the mood of the passage and that of the author- frustration. Since the comments are in print rather than audio or video, it’s difficult to convey moods that were I speaking in person could easily be conveyed through non-verbal cues. Additionally, that’s a function of adverbs and adjectives. Beyond description (the blue car) and clarification (that blue car over there,) adjectives and adverbs offer a glimpse into the speaker’s mind ([Which car hit your mailbox?] That motherfucking blue car over there!) They’re called sentence enhancers for a reason. Furthermore, these are very old words in the English language. Shit and piss were made taboo by their Latin euphemisms probably courtesy of the Norman Invasion in 1066. And what shall I say about fuck? Glorious, glorious fuck. So beloved, reviled, and versatile that an entire book was written about it. How could I not use it? And it’s not as though I don’t have standards about word use. I know when and where sentence enhancers are appropriate (hanging out with my cousins? Yeah! Job interview? No thanks.), and I also have words I won’t use. Racial/ethnic slurs and words used to denigrate gays and lesbians and women are out, because those are hate words, and they’re used to make people feel bad about who they are. Not cool. But fuck and shit have never been used to keep anybody down, and I won’t keep those words down. Also, and I cannot say it enough: It’s my site. I write what I want, how I want. It’s not my job to make you feel comfortable when you’re reading it; you can leave and never come back any time you’d like. And another thing: calling me immature when you’d previously addressed me as Pottymouth? I’m rubber and you’re glue, friend.

      To address your first point, I’m not sure where you’re getting your information. Do you have citations for those assertions that scientists supposedly made? If you can’t provide sources, I’ll be forced to conclude that you’ve either gotten specious information or you’re just making things up.

      As you’ll see, I’ve only used swears in this comment as examples or when referring to the words directly. I don’t have to work blue, I just choose to when I want to lend an air of informality and aggravation to my writing.

  14. Lobengula says:

    I didn’t say I found your language offensive, I said it added nothing to the thoughts conveyed. Describing such phrases as adverbs and adjectives is ludicrous.
    As an example of non-communication, can you tell all of us what motherfucker or motherfucking actually means and what specific meanings they have in the context you wrote them?

    Why not simply say when you’re upset or angry?

    You referred to both you and your mother as having a pottymouth…remember?

    Here is the information on the universe in simplified form.

    http://ngm.nationalgeographic.com/2008/03/god-particle/achenbach-text/6

  15. Live Hotmail says:

    If you desire to take a good deal from this paragraph then you
    have to apply these techniques to your won web site.

  16. Aw, this was a really nice post. Finding the time and actual effort to produce a very good article…
    but what can I say… I put things off a lot and don’t manage to get anything done.

  17. global banjo says:

    Nice respond in return of this issue with firm arguments and telling the whole thing regarding
    that.

Leave a Reply

