CCCE Non-Scoring Round- God, Be in Me

This is one I found online. I’m not subjecting it to my scoring system; I just wanted to share it because I found it kinda funny. Apparently, I’m twelve.

God, Be In Me
~original text author unknown~

God, be in my head,
And in my understanding.

God, be in my eyes,
And in my looking.

God, be in my mouth,
And in my speaking.

God, be in my heart,
And in my thinking.

God, be at my end,
And at my departing.

Amen

Hee, dirty. I mean, “God, be in my mouth” and “God, be at my end.” I thought Christians didn’t do those things. I do take issue with “God, be in my eyes,” because that hurts.

One Response to CCCE Non-Scoring Round- God, Be in Me

  1. guinness74 says:

    I love your site. I think it’s hilarious. I’ve been laughing at it all morning. However, this one caught my eye. I’ve always thought this text was kind of corny…but the text is from the hymn “St. Patrick’s Breastplate”, which sort of adds to the goofy double entendres I suppose.

    Anyway, thought you’d be interested in knowing that it’s probably an old Celtic (Irish, not Boston) prayer, because the Celts were known for praying for everything, from rising in the morning, to stoking the fire, to sweeping the hearth, to milking the cow. This “prayer” is simply an extension of that lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

